Home / ShapingEDU LIVE: December 2021

ShapingEDU LIVE: December 2021

ShapingEDU LIVE presents Exploring the U.S. Infrastructure Investment  and Jobs Act x Universal Broadband Access

 

A Game of Access, Book 1: A Song of Hubs and Spokes

Free | Live | Interactive | Register Today!

December 07, 2021 at 11am EST / 10am CST / 9am MST / 8am PST

Winter...errr, universal broadband...is coming, and with it a new map of opportunities and challenges. It’s not just a matter of a bit of fiber here, a cell tower there. A successful rollout that matches the promise of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act of 2021 (IIJA) -- signed into United States law on November 15, 2021, which allocates $65 billion in funding to create universal access to reliable high-speed internet -- needs to factor in how constituencies will be connected, what their interactions might look like, and how the know-how needed to leverage these connections will be supplied and distributed.

In a modified Delphi exercise earlier this year, ShapingEDU's Digital Belonging Action Team created the project "Connecting for Work and Learning: Universal Broadband Access in the United States" to priorotize hub-and-spoke broadband education connections for study. Join us, as we unearth players, territories, alliances and rivalries in a Matrix Game designed to jump-start this study. We’ll also explore Matrix Games in general, and how they can scaffold serious thinking about dragon-ridden subjects.

Register for Event